Understanding Nevada’s Auto Insurance Minimums
It’s well known that you legally must carry a certain quantity of insurance before you’re allowed to take your car onto the road in order to protect others if you get into a Nevada car accident. However, many people aren’t intimately familiar with how much insurance they need to (or should) carry. Nevada’s motorist liability insurance minimums are simple, and outline three levels of coverage that all motorists must carry in order to legally drive in Nevada:
- $25,000 for the bodily injury of one person
- $50,000 for the bodily injury of multiple people in a crash
- $20,000 for property damage sustained in a crash
Failure to adhere to these minimums will fetch uninsured drivers a set of fines and driver’s license restrictions, but won’t affect your overall level of liability in an auto accident. Similarly, while it might make it difficult for either party to recover for their losses, both the uninsured and insured drivers can still pursue compensation. To learn more about how a lack of insurance can affect your case, it’s best to contact an auto accident attorney in Nevada.
Is Minimum Coverage Enough?
So, is it enough to only carry a policy that only just meets Nevada’s insurance minimums? Yes and no. While it’s true that meeting insurance minimums will allow you to avoid Nevada’s penalties for uninsured drivers, you’ll likely have separate repercussions to face if you get into an accident more severe than a fender bender. This is due to the fact that these insurance minimums are liability-specific such as when you’re at fault, they will then cover the injuries and property damages of other parties. This means that carrying a bare minimum of insurance does little to nothing to compensate you, the policyholder.
Liability insurance minimums are just that—minimums. For many collisions, expenses may quickly outpace someone’s lacking liability coverage, forcing drivers to pursue compensation via alternative means. Beyond comprehensive, fairly self-explanatory insurance plans, there are three other key categories of coverage you may wish to consider:
- Underinsured/ uninsured motorist coverage: If an at-fault driver doesn’t have enough liability insurance to cover your damages, this will make up the difference.
- Collision coverage: Rather than protect other drivers, this compensates you for your auto repair bills, regardless of who’s at fault.
- Medpay: Medpay is like collision coverage, only it covers your personal injury expenses rather than damages to your vehicle.
Uninsured Driver Compensation in Nevada
If you do get into a collision without sufficient insurance, you’ll likely need to consult one of Aaron Law Group’s Las Vegas accident attorneys to learn more about how you can still pursue a reasonable settlement, or, at times, a successful lawsuit. Having insufficient insurance doesn’t absolve drivers of financial responsibility, yet neither does it bar them from receiving deserved compensation. Give us a call today at (702) 550-1111 to schedule a free consultation with a legal professional, and get all your questions answered in a no-pressure environment; we can help you learn more about your options and the potential difficulties that your insurance policy (or lack thereof) could present.