Nevada Teen Driving Requirements
If you live in the state of Nevada and are the parent of a teenager, you may be wondering what the requirements are for your child to become a legal driver. Nevada’s teen driver laws and regulations say that your teen can apply for their learner’s permit when they are 15 ½ years of age. Proof of identification and an address in the state is necessary for the application’s approval. Your child will have to pass both a vision and a written test and as a parent, you will be responsible for signing the financial responsibility portion of the learner’s permit application. The fees include $22.25 for a license and $25 for testing. If retests are required, those will cost $10.
In addition to these requirements, it is also necessary for prospective teen drivers under the age of 18 to meet Nevada’s minimum school attendance specifications. Students that do not meet these requirements and have too many absences from school may be unable to obtain their learner’s permit or driver’s license.
How Teens Can Get a Drivers’ License in Nevada
By age 15, teen drivers can enroll in a classroom driver education class. Drivers who are considered legal adults (18 years of age and older) do not have to take the driver education course. There is a 50-hour behind-the-wheel requirement as well with 10 of those hours being done during the night. In some cases, having 100 hours of driving experience may also qualify as meeting this stipulation. This training is necessary for obtaining a driver’s license, but not a learner’s permit.
A learner’s permit is only valid for one year. Afterward, it will be necessary to apply to have a renewal should it be expired. If the individual holding the learner’s permit has been convicted of certain unlawful actions like traffic violations or driving under the influence their application may be denied.
The state also offers resources for parents who are teaching their children to drive. Through driving guides and state-approved apps, parents can easily obtain lesson plans and tips for success as well as tracking tools to log hours behind the wheel.
After all the requirements are complete and there are no moving violations, crashes, or drug or alcohol convictions on a teen’s record for six months before they are to be tested for their driver’s license, they may proceed so long as they are at least 16 years of age. Failure to pass a driver’s license test may mean that retaking the test must be done within 30 days.
Once a teen has obtained their driver’s license, there will be a probationary period where they will be limited on what time they are allowed to drive and who they can have in their car with them when they drive.
Speak with a Nevada Car Accident Injury Attorney Today
It can be an exciting time when a teen becomes of age and can start training to drive. However, while having a teen driver may help parents out by taking on transportation duties, new teen drivers are a high-risk demographic for car accidents. Making sure a teen is confident and alert behind the wheel is helpful.
Should a crash occur, the Las Vegas car accident attorney at the Aaron Law Group offers legal support and guidance. Call today to schedule a free consultation at (702) 550-1111.