Can an Uninsured Driver Sue After a Nevada Car Accident?

Can an Uninsured Driver Sue After a Nevada Car Accident?

It’s no secret that the primary function of automobile insurance companies is to offer a sort of financial safety net should you be involved in a motor vehicle accident. Due to the high cost of damages that car crashes can cause, having insurance is critical to help with these expenses. Without insurance, if you caused a crash, the party you hit would be able to take legal action against you. You could lose your savings, home, and other assets paying them for their losses. For this reason, Nevada car insurance laws require every motorist to have valid automobile insurance. Nevada is not alone here. Across the nation, each state, with the exception of New Hampshire, ensure that car insurance is mandatory for all drivers.

Still, there are several people who will get behind the wheel and not meet the mandatory minimums. In Nevada, it is estimated that as high as 10% of drivers do not have the required coverage. When a crash happens, it is possible that one of the parties involved will be uninsured. However, what happens when an uninsured driver is hit by a negligent driver with insurance? Can uninsured drivers obtain compensation for their losses?

If you have questions about what to do after a Nevada car accident, connect with the Las Vegas car accident injury attorney at the Aaron Law Group for more information and trusted legal guidance.

Do Uninsured Drivers Have Rights to Compensation After a Crash in Nevada?

Can an Uninsured Driver Sue After a Nevada Car Accident?Nevada requires drivers to have a minimum of $25,000 in liability coverage for bodily injuries per person, at least $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and also at least $20,000 for property damages. Wondering about what rights an uninsured driver has when they are the victim of a crash is a good question. If you are caught without insurance, hefty fines can follow, and you may have your driver’s license suspended. Carrying car insurance coverage is not only required by the law, but it also can provide critical financial protection if a crash should occur.

Nevertheless, if you are in a car accident and you are not at fault for causing it, and you do not have car insurance, it is understandable to be uncertain about your ability to file a claim for compensation. The good news is that you can file a claim against the negligent party that caused your crash even if you do not have insurance. In a situation like this, it is best to consult with an attorney who can provide you with the legal advice you need to understand your options.

Call the Attorney at the Aaron Law Group to Learn More Today

Car accident insurance requirements and liability under the law can be difficult to understand and make sense of, but you do not have to figure everything out by yourself. Connect with the Las Vegas personal injury attorney today at the Aaron Law Group after you have been in a car accident. You can schedule a free consultation to discuss your car accident experience by calling (702) 550-1111. 

Translate Site»