The Consequences of Nevada Hit-and-Run AccidentsLas Vegas Legal News
Hit-and-run accidents are no laughing matter, carrying severe consequences for everyone involved. Every state has its own laws governing and penalizing these reckless collisions, but here, Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.030 to 484E0.080 define driver responsibilities and hit-and-run accidents in detail:
- After an accident, drivers must provide their name, address, and vehicle registration number to the other motorist; additionally, they must willingly show their driver’s license to anyone who was involved in the crash upon request.
- When colliding with an unattended vehicle, drivers must attempt to locate the owner of the vehicle in order to provide the above information and inform them of the crash. In the event that the owner can’t be located, drivers must leave a conspicuous written note, in or on the vehicle, including their name and address alongside a brief summary of the accident. Then, drivers must alert the nearest police office of the accident.
- If anyone is hurt in the accident, drivers must do their best to arrange for medical aid. This can be as simple as a 911 call at times, but at others, it could involve basic first aid and personally rushing someone to the hospital
At times, hit-and-run collisions are willful acts of recklessness, usually caused by overwhelming stress or concerns in the event of a crash. However, hit-and-runs can be purely accidental as well; for example, if a driver mistakenly forgot to provide their address to other involved parties, then left on good terms, they’d technically be guilty of a hit-and-run despite not “running.” Talk to a Nevada car accident attorney to learn more about what does, and does not, constitute a hit-and-run accident.
How Hit-and-Runs Harm Others
Usually, hit-and-run drivers are thinking of themselves first and foremost, with limited regard for how severely their negligence can hurt others:
- Without immediate medical assistance, the “golden hour” for successful treatment is more likely to pass by unnoticed, especially on rural roads or at night. Abandoning the scene of a severe accident could seriously complicate someone else’s injuries needlessly, or worse still, result in an avoidable fatality.
- Victims of hit-and-run accidents where the culprit isn’t found often struggle to find the compensation they need. Although they frequently can file for compensation through their own insurance company or find other sources of funding for victims of crime, that isn’t a guarantee, and it’s not always a comprehensive answer.
The Legal Consequences of Committing a Hit-and-Run
Hit-and-runs are harmful to every involved party, including the hit-and-run driver themselves. If caught, guilty parties face a variety of potential consequences:
- A hit-and-run that causes only property damage (usually with unattended vehicles or other property) will net drivers a $1,000 fine, six points onto their driving record, and up to six months of imprisonment.
- Hit-and-runs involving bodily injury or death are felonies and will result in two to 20 years in prison. Additionally, guilty parties can expect a fine of up to $5,000 and the total revocation of their license.
Hit-and-Run Accident Compensation in Nevada
If you’ve been hurt by the recklessness of a hit-and-run accident, you deserve compensation for your injuries and damages, all of which are likely to have been compounded upon by the negligent driver’s shirking of their responsibilities. A Las Vegas accident lawyer can help you track down and demand compensation from guilty motorists, so give us a call today at (702) 550-1111 to get started. You deserve better, so let the personal injury lawyers at Aaron Law Group take the burden of the claims process off of your hands, giving you time to focus on recovery.