Understanding the Risks of Distracted DrivingLas Vegas Legal News
Every time you get onto the road, ~3 percent of the drivers around you are using a handheld device. Hundreds of thousands of people are injured by these distracted drivers annually, with thousands of lives lost in the process—and yet, people continue to actively distract themselves behind the wheel with reckless abandon. Awareness efforts for distracted driving are at an all-time peak, but for as long as people continue to endanger themselves and those around them, it’s vital that you understand the severity of being distracted or impaired while driving. In particular, remember that distracted driving doesn’t just refer to device usage; eating, drinking, talking to passengers, and similar activities can be just as dangerous if they take your eyes, hands, or thoughts away from the ongoing task of driving.
The Legal Consequences of Distracted Driving
So, what qualifies as “distracted driving,” and where does Nevada draw the line on device usage in the vehicle?
- If you’re driving, it is not lawful to use handheld devices, period. This includes texting, making calls, accessing the internet, or otherwise “sending or reading data.”
- To further clarify, if you’re behind the wheel and your engine is running, you can not lawfully use a device. Distracted driving laws apply in parking lots and at red lights as well.
- As the only exception, you may use devices if they’re entirely hands-free, and furthermore, are generally vision-free. That is to say, you can take a call with an earpiece or other hands-free device, and can dictate text messages in the same way—you can’t, however, watch a video or read texts, even with a hands-free system.
Distracted driving is extremely common, which can lead many to believe that it’s “no big deal” or that it’s normal and won’t be caught—however, that notion is far from the truth. Law enforcement personnel are trained to notice small signs of device usage while driving, and no matter how subtle someone thinks they’re being, their distracted state will show in their driving. Being too slow to notice a green light, braking suddenly, drifting in a lane, speeding or inconsistent speed, and other warning signs invariably manifest in distracted drivers.
Once someone is suspected of distracted driving, Nevada accident attorneys can prove that they were texting or otherwise distracted at the time of the accident. Upon being found guilty of distracted driving, the sentence is rather lax, with a $50, $100, or $250 fine for first, second, and third time offenders, respectively. However, in the event of an accident, the distracted driver will likely be found to be severely at fault, and as such, they’ll be responsible for compensating the other motorist significantly or in full for their bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other tangible or intangible damages.
How a Distracted Driving Accident Attorney Can Help
Don’t let distracted driving car accidents in Nevada overwhelm you with crippling financial burdens. Our accomplished car accident lawyers can get you the compensation you deserve for the pain and damages you’ve suffered in the wake of a catastrophic car accident at the hands of a distracted driver. If you need help with your case or are struggling to prove that another driver was distracted when they hit you, contact us today at (702) 550-1111 to arrange a free consultation. We’ll take the burden of a complex accident case off your shoulders, giving you time to focus on recovery and relaxation.